John Daniel "Danny" Olivas

 Total EVAs:  5
 Total EVA time:  34h 28m

No. Date Together with Time Main tasks and notes
 1  11.06.2007  J. Reilly  6h 15m
Hooking up power cables to begin activation of the S3/S4 truss and starting to prepare the Solar Alpha Rotary Joint, also known as the SARJ, for activation
 2  15.06.2007  J. Reilly  7h 58m
Finishing removing the SARJ's launch locks and restraints so that it can be activated and repairing of the Shuttle's heat shield
 3  01.09.2009  N. Stott  6h 35m
Preparing for the replacement of an empty ammonia tank on the station's port truss, or backbone, by releasing its bolts. They also retrieved a materials processing experiment and a European science experiment mounted outside the Columbus laboratory and stowed them in Discovery's cargo bay for their return to Earth.
 4  03.09.2009  C. Fuglesang  6h 39m
Removing the new ammonia tank from the shuttle's payload bay and replacing it with the used tank on the station. The new tank, weighing about 1,800 pounds, was the most mass ever moved around by spacewalking astronauts. After the new tank was installed, the old one was stowed in the shuttle for its return to Earth.
 5  05.09.2009  C. Fuglesang  7h 01m
Preparing for the arrival of the Tranquility node by attaching cables between the starboard truss and the Unity node, the area where Tranquility will be installed. Tranquility is targeted to arrive to the station on STS-130 in February 2010. The spacewalkers also replaced a communications sensor device, installed two new GPS antennas and a new circuit breaker.

close window

John Daniel "Danny" Olivas

 EVA's:  5
 EVA-Zeit:  34h 28m

Nr. Datum Zusammen mit Zeit Schwerpunkte und Anmerkungen
 1  11.06.2007  J. Reilly  6h 15m
Befestigung von elektrischen Kabeln zum Beginn der Aktivierung des S3/S4-Trägers und Vorbereitung der Aktivierung des Solar Alpha Rotary Joint (SARJ)
 2  15.06.2007  J. Reilly  7h 58m
Entfernung der restlichen Sicherungsbolzen des Solar Alpha Rotary Joint (SARJ), um es zu aktivieren und Reparatur des Hitzeschildes der Atlantis
 3  01.09.2009  N. Stott  6h 35m
Vorbereitung für den Austausch eines leeren Ammoniak-Tanks an der Hinterseite der Station, indem man die Festhaltebolzen löst. Daneben wurden ein Materialforschungsexperiment und ein europäisches Wissenschaftsexperiment, die beide an der Außenhaut des Columbus-Labors montiert waren geborgen und in der Nutzladebucht von Discovery verstaut.
 4  03.09.2009  C. Fuglesang  6h 39m
Austausch des Ammoniak-Tanks. Dieser Tank, der etwa 1.800 Pounds wog, war damit die schwerste Masse, die von Astronauten während einer EVA bewegt wurde. Auch der alte Tank wurde in der Nutzladebucht verstaut.
 5  05.09.2009  C. Fuglesang  7h 01m
Vorbereitungsarbeiten für die Ankunft des Verbindungsknotens Tranquility. Dabei wurden Kabel zwischen dem Steuerbord-Truss und dem Knotenpunkt Unity zusätzlich angebracht, dem Bereich, in dem Tranquility installiert werden soll. Dieser dritte Knoten soll mit STS-130 im Februar 2010 zur ISS geliefert werden. Während der EVA wurde außerdem ein Kommunikationssensor ausgetauscht sowie zwei neue GPS-Antennen und ein neuer Stromkreisschalter installiert.

Fenster schließen