Richard Alan "Rick" Mastracchio

 Total EVAs:  9
 Total EVA time:  53h 04m

No. Date Together with Time Main tasks and notes
 1  11.08.2007  D. Williams  6h 17m
Removing locks from the S5 that secure it during launch and lock it in place, relocating a radiator from its launch position to the bottom of the S5 to provide clearance for solar arrays to track the sun. During mission STS-120, the radiator will be relocated to its final position.
 2  13.08.2007  D. Williams  6h 28m
Moving a failed control moment gyroscope (CMG-3) to an unpressurized platform that holds spare parts outside the station called External Stowage Platform–2 (ESP-2), a new platform, ESP-3, was added to the station (stored inside ESP-3 is a new gyro that the spacewalkers used to replace the failed one), disconnecting ESP-3 power cables to prepare it for permanent relocation to the station
 3  15.08.2007  C. Anderson  5h 28m
Preparing for the relocation of the P6 truss segment on the STS-120 mission, moving two equipment carts from the right to left side of the station and relocating an antenna and upgrade avionics and communication systems. This EVA had to be shortened because of a damage to the left thumb of Mastracchios spacesuit glove. At no time was Mastracchio in any danger, NASA said, but flight rules required Mastracchio to end his spacewalking task as a precaution.
 4  09.04.2010  C. Anderson  6h 27m
The crew inside used the station's robotic arm to remove a new ammonia tank from shuttle's payload bay and temporarily stow it on the station. Ammonia is used to move excess heat from inside the station to the radiators located outside. The spacewalkers then retrieved a seed experiment outside the Japanese laboratory. Next, the pair installed a grapple bar to the new ammonia tank on the station's truss. The pair also replaced a failed gyroscope that is part of the station's navigation system. They also accomplished several "get-ahead" tasks, removing 11 out of 12 p-clamps slated for a future spacewalk.
 5  11.04.2010  C. Anderson  7h 26m
Using the station's arm, the astronauts removed the empty ammonia tank from the station's truss and temporarily stowed it on an equipment cart. The new tank then was installed and connected to the truss for use. Connecting the nitrogen and ammonia fluid lines was delayed for this spacewalk because of the delays getting the tank installed. The station's arm then temporarily stowed the old tank on another part of the station's structure until the mission's third spacewalk.
 6  13.04.2010  C. Anderson  6h 24m
First they finished the complicated change out of the large ammonia tank assembly. Using the station's arm, the crew moved the old tank into the shuttle's payload bay for return to Earth. The spacewalkers also removed the grapple bar from the old ammonia tank and stowed it on a spare parts platform. Finally Anderson and Mastracchio retrieved debris shields from the Quest airlock to return to Earth.
 7  21.12.2013  M. Hopkins  5h 28m
The EVA mainly focused on disconnecting the failed loop A pump module from its location on the Starboard 1 (S1) Truss - including the infamously difficult ammonia disconnections.
 8  24.12.2013  M. Hopkins  7h 30m
They removed a spare pump module from the ESP-3 and installed it on the Starboard 1 (S1) Truss.
 9  23.04.2014  S. Swanson  1h 36m
The astronauts replaced a backup multiplexer-demultiplexer (MDM) that failed during routine testing April 11, 2014. The box is one of the station's two external MDMs that provide commands to some of the space station's systems, including the external cooling system, solar alpha rotary joints (SARJ) and mobile transporter rail car.

close window

Richard Alan "Rick" Mastracchio

 EVA's:  9
 EVA-Zeit:  53h 04m

Nr. Datum Zusammen mit Zeit Schwerpunkte und Anmerkungen
 1  11.08.2007  D. Williams  6h 17m
Entfernung von Start-Sicherungsbolzen des S5-Segmentes und anschließende Befestigung am vorgesehenen Platz; gleichzeitig wurden auch die Anschlüsse hergestellt. Außerdem wurde der P6 Radiator eingefahren und zum Fuß des S5 Segmentes verlegt, damit die Sonnensegel zur Sonne ausgerichtet werden können. Während der Mission STS-120 soll der Radiator dann an seinen endgültigen Standort installiert werden.
 2  13.08.2007  D. Williams  6h 28m
Umsetzung eines defekten Gyroscops (CMG-3) zu einer Plattform mit Namen External Stowage Platform–2 (ESP-2) außerhalb der Station auf der Ersatzteile gelagert werden, eine neue Plattform, ESP-3, wurde an der Raumstation angebracht (in der ESP-3 ist ein neues Gyroscop, dass von den Weltraumspaziergängern zum Ersatz des defekten benutzt wurde), Abtrennung von ESP-3-Stromkabeln zur Vorbereitung der Umsetzung an eine andere Stelle der ISS
 3  15.08.2007  C. Anderson  5h 28m
Vorbereitungsarbeiten für die Umsetzung des P6-Trägersegments während der Mission STS-120, Umsetzung von zwei Werkzeug-Karren von der rechten zur linken Seite der Raumstation und Verlegung einer Antenne sowie Erweiterung von Avionik- und Kommunikationssystemen. Diese EVA musste allerdings aus Sicherheitsgründen abgebrochen werden, weil der linke Handschuh von Mastracchio einen Schaden aufwies. Die Vorschriften der NASA sehen vor, dass dann der Außenbordeinsatz abgebrochen werden muss. Gefahr für Mastracchio soll aber nicht bestanden haben.
 4  09.04.2010  C. Anderson  6h 27m
Mit Hilfe des Roboterarms wurde zunächst ein Ammoniak-Tank aus der Nutzladebucht gehoben und vorübergehend an der Station verstaut. Ammoniak wird benötigt, um überschüssige Wärme aus der Station zu den Radiatoren außerhalb der Station zu leiten. Dann bargen die beiden Astronauten ein Samen-Experiment von außerhalb des japanischen Labors. Anschließend wurden Haltevorrichtungen an den Ammoniak-Tank angebracht und ein defektes Gyroskop des Navigationssystems der Station ausgetauscht. Da die beiden gut im Zeitrahmen lagen, wurden schon einige Arbeiten, die eigentlich später geplant waren, gleich mit erledigt, indem man z.B. schon 11 von 12 Befestigungsklammern löste.
 5  11.04.2010  C. Anderson  7h 26m
Mit Hilfe des Stationsarmes wurde der leere Ammoniaktank vom Truss abgebaut und vorübergehend auf dem Equipment-Cart verstaut. Anschließend wurde der neue Tank eingesetzt und befestigt. Die Verbindung der Nitrogen- und der Ammoniak-Leitungen wurde wegen Verzögerungen bei der Befestigung des Ammoniaktanks nicht durchgeführt. Mit dem Stationsarm wurde dann der leere Tank nochmals versetzt.
 6  13.04.2010  C. Anderson  6h 24m
Zunächst wurden die schwierigen Arbeiten beim Wechseln des Ammoniktanks beendet. Mit Hilfe des Roboterarms der Station wurde der leere Ammoniaktank in die Ladebucht des Shuttle verfrachtet. Danach wurden die Haltevorrichtungen vom alten Tank entfernt und auf der Werkzeugplattform verstaut. Anderson und Mastracchio bargen zum Abschluss dieser EVA noch einige Schutzkacheln vom Quest-Modul, um sie mit zur Erde zurückzubringen.
 7  21.12.2013  M. Hopkins  5h 28m
Ziel der EVA war es im Wesentlichen, die defekte Kühlkreislauf-Pumpe, die sich am Starboard 1 (S1) Truss befindet, abzubauen. Dazu gehörte auch das komplizierte Abtrennen der Pumpe vom Ammoniak-Kreislauf.
 8  24.12.2013  M. Hopkins  7h 30m
Die Astronauten holten eine Ersatz-Pumpe von der ESP-3 und bauten sie am Starboard 1 (S1) Truss ein.
 9  23.04.2014  S. Swanson  1h 36m
Die Astronauten ersetzten einen während eines Routinetests am 11. April 2014 ausgefallenen Ersatz-Multiplexer-Demultiplexer (MDM). Dabei handelt es sich um eine von zwei externen MDMs, die für die Steuerung verschiedener Stationskomponenten sind. Dazu gehören das externe Kühlsystems, die Solar Alpha Rotary Joints (SARJ) und den Transportschlitten.

Fenster schließen